Go faster

what
I already reached a point where I wanted to stop working on this several hours ago, but I decided to press on.

The lighting is still kind of wonky and so are the colors, but at least I figured out that while painting, I don’t really need to preserve neatness. I also went ahead and painted over my lines, and later reintroduced them when I felt they were necessary. I also went back to an older technique that I used to color with low opacity brushes; I might try to experiment more rough lay-ins next time with them.

About EU03

I like horns.
This entry was posted in Others and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Go faster

  1. Hamblasto says:

    If only SEGA went with a big-breasted pink-haired girl instead of a blue hedgehog…

  2. zeh_turtle says:

    There’s always Ulala from Space Channel 5 for that, Ham!

  3. Coroner says:

    I think it looks good, definitely your unique style. You said you wanted to quit several hours in on this piece; how long did you end up spending on it from the beginning to end? Feng Zhu said one of the biggest problems with young artists is they feel they have to work quickly and get frustrated when they’re partway through- not realizing it takes decades to improve speed work.

    • EU03 says:

      I already had stretched this drawing (which started as a small sketch) out over the week and up to a certain point, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go through with the additional polish since I felt the drawing wasn’t strong enough to warrant extra work on it.
      I already realize that drawing “faster” should not be a goal, and I am typically comfortable with working on a piece for extended sessions. However, lately I have been trying different things and pushing myself, so it’s been a little hectic.

Leave a Reply

